Open letter signed by action members (see list below)

Alongside the so-called migrant crisis across the European Union is an evolving moral disaster. Repeated migrant boating tragedies, where hundreds of lives are lost with each capsize, and the escalating desperation in Calais have been greeted with a noticeable decrease in solidarity and empathy from EU policy leaders and citizens.

It seems we are increasingly having to justify what should be a given: a refusal to abandon the most vulnerable. We must all recognise that every individual migrant is part of a worldwide narrative of conflict, disasters and threats of persecution that have made their homes uninhabitable. Many of our fellow citizens have found themselves in similar situations in the past and more recently.

Our consciences should be disturbed further by how most refugees are accommodated, not by the EU, but by lower-income countries. This reflects the sad moral state of our European Union.

The EU has, of course, finite resources, but this suffering offers opportunities for us to shape the world into a better home for all humanity. To avert the unfolding moral and humanitarian disaster we must acknowledge and act upon our obligation to provide humanitarian assistance that ensures shelter, safety and dignity for each refugee.


Dr Ayesha Ahmad UK
Mr Andrew Akampurira Uganda
Professor Vilhjalmur Arnason Iceland
Dr Sheena M Eagan Chamberlin USA
Dr Murat Civaner Turkey
Dr Caroline Clarinval Switzerland
Professor Michel Debacker Belgium
Professor Ignaas Devisch Belgium
Professor Michele Landis Dauber USA
Professor Maureen Ehrensberger-Dow Switzerland
Mr Vilius Dranseika Lithuania
Professor Heather Draper UK
Professor Jonina Einarsdottir Iceland
Professor Eugenijus Gefenas Lithuania
Professor Niklas Juth Sweden
Assistant Professor Peter Kakuk Hungary
Professor Eleni Kalokairinou Greece
Professor Pinchas Halpern Israel
Dr Ghaiath MA Hussein UK
Dr Kararina Komenska Slovakia
Professor Dusanka Krajnovic Serbia
Dr Donal O’Mathuna Ireland
Professor Pierre Mallia Malta 
  Dr Jay Marlowe New Zealand
Dr Daniel Messelken Germany
Dr Signe Mezinska Latvia
Dr Goran Mijaljica Croatia
Dr Elysee Nouvet Canada
Dr Emilomo Ogbe Belgium
Dr Teresa Sarmento Pimentel Portugal
Dr Aivita Putnina Latvia
Professor Vojin Rakic Serbia
Mr Rob Ranisch Germany
Dr Joanna Rozynska Poland
Dr Johan von Schreeb Sweden
Professor Jackie Leach Scully UK
Dr Kadri Simm Estonia
Dr Chesmal Siriwardhana UK
Professor Jan Helge Solbakk Norway
Professor Peter Sykora Slovakia
Dr Behnam Taebi Netherlands
Dr Lars Ursin Norway
Professor Emanuele Valenti Spain
Dr Vina Vaswani India
Dr Marcin Waligora Poland
Dr Shlomit Zuckerman Israel 

Published at: